Newton 2.0x Archemedia Open Beta

A place to discuss everything related to Newton Dynamics.

Moderators: Sascha Willems, walaber

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Virginie » Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:58 am

Hello,
Can I have a little example for callback : onAABBOverlap and contactsProcess please?

Thanks
Virginie
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:29 am

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Julio Jerez » Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:53 am

Beauty wrote:
Julio Jerez wrote:but readin teh last post I am asking do you problem?

I don't know what exactly you want to know.
Maybe you are confused by the description of the (fixed) problems of my test application.

yes I run the test and it when into a ifinite loop, so it sodyl be eassy to fix.
The I read your last post sayin teh you foun a bug on your side and I though you fodn teh error.
It does matter I will debuge it
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby guthrieadams3 » Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:05 pm

I recently ported my PC/Windows/DX9 based engine, which has used Newton for a while, to the iPhone. I upgraded to 2.0 beta, Everything works beautifully on the PC, Mac, and iPhone Simulator. After setting the platform architecture to 0 and thread count 0 or 1, things sort of work on my iPhone 3G. My objects start at their correct, initial transforms. After they're set into motion, their orientation seems to pop and lock at some diagonal. Friction and torque seem to not be applied correctly. Balls slide instead of roll. Boxes slide on a corner instead of slowing down then resting.

My world is a user mesh collision. It contains about 15 boxes and 6 spheres, running about 16FPS. I locked the update rate to 60FPS just to make sure that wasn't an issue.

I'll attach screenshots as soon as I figure out how to get them out of the organizer. :)
guthrieadams3
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 12:07 pm

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby viz_fuerte » Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:03 pm

Hey Julio! :D

The version 2.0 is very fast! :shock:
Here is my demo if anyone wants to download.

310 Bodies and meshes.
155.876 triangles
90 FPS (previously less than 70 FPS)

NewtonSetSolverModel - 0;
NewtonSetFrictionModel - 1;
NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture - 0;
NewtonSetThreadsCount - 0;

Link:http://www.mysticrealitystudio.comuv.com/downloads/NewtonTest.zip

Note: if fails to start the demo, perhaps because you do not have installed on your system the library OpenAL.
viz_fuerte
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:27 pm

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Julio Jerez » Fri May 01, 2009 11:26 am

Ha cool
I get 149 fps

when I run it still say newton 1.53, is that a mistake?

if you do NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture - 3 it should be much faster
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby viz_fuerte » Fri May 01, 2009 7:39 pm

:shock: Is true :shock:

Also, if I under the number of triangles in the balls, I reached +200 FPS!

when I run it still say newton 1.53, is that a mistake?

Ahhh, is a error, this demo uses the version 2.0.!!! :lol:
viz_fuerte
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:27 pm

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby viz_fuerte » Sun May 03, 2009 3:33 pm

What is the best configuration for speed in Newton 2.0?

I have put this:
Code: Select all
NewtonSetSolverModel - 4
NewtonSetFrictionModel - 1
NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture - 3
NewtonSetThreadsCount - 0
NewtonSetMultiThreadSolverOnSingleIsland - 1
viz_fuerte
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:27 pm

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Beauty » Sun May 03, 2009 7:35 pm

If NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture != 0
and the hardware depencies aren't available, what will happen then?

Can there be a crash?
If yes, will it happen immediatelly or an it happen somewhen later, too?
(in this case a hardware check at startup would be good)

Maybe there can be included code for hardware check to set the param automatically?

p.s.
Parts of the answer can be included to the related wiki page.
Mogre user
User avatar
Beauty
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Germany

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Julio Jerez » Tue May 05, 2009 11:30 am

NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture will no generate a crask
It will set teh option only it is exist, othewise it iwll try teh secudn lowest and so on.
you should call NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture after to see if teh option was set.

no crash will ever happens due to platform conflict
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby VeT » Tue May 05, 2009 5:58 pm

Julio, what about new beta version of Newton ?
Would it appear in the nearest time?
1st prize: Lite-C and Newton 2.17 by Vasilenko Vitaliy
LiteC+Newton2 download: http://hosted.filefront.com/NeArGa
LiteC+Newton2 discussion: http://tinyurl.com/6l7y9v
VeT
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:31 am

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Beauty » Mon May 18, 2009 9:08 am

Julio, if there is no disadvantage for NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture, why 0 is the default setting?
I think it would be better to set the "best" param as default and change the setting for older platforms. Or is the wiki description wrong?

Did you find out something related to the freeze problem of the NewtonCollisionUpdate?
It would be nice if there is a bugfix in the next publication.
Mogre user
User avatar
Beauty
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 7:37 am
Location: Germany

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Julio Jerez » Mon May 18, 2009 10:49 am

Newton is set the worse possible setting to make a stable simulation at 60 fos.

I do not like to be the Used Car Saleman strategy that developer prop up a demo to show visuals and testiomonial appraisal,
But when the final user try to put it to the test, they find nothing but Snake Oil.

I like the the person using the engine find that the engine is better that what the demo and the ad says.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby greyleg » Tue May 19, 2009 3:26 am

Hi Julio!

First of, GREAT work on an excellent physics engine! I really appreciate your work!

I'm using Newton in an iPhone game for rolling two dice. It works perfect in the simulator but behaves strangely on the actual iPhone device. The dice doesn't rotate at all on the device, and there are also some other issues.

I'm using:
LibiNewtonNative.a for the device
LibiNewtonEmulator.a for the simulator

NewtonSetPlatformArchitecture(myWorld, 0);
NewtonSetThreadsCount(myWorld, 0);

Is there anything else I need to do?

PLEASE help me if you know anything, I really need this to work for my thesis work.
/Kalle, Sweden
greyleg
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 6:53 am

Re: Newton 2.0 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Gucman » Tue May 26, 2009 4:55 am

Hi
I am new on this forums :). And I've got two simple questions.
Is there any manual for Newton 2.0? I have tutorials that come with the SDK so it is not very vital but it would be nice to have some paper about 2.0 features and params. I managed to do simple driving game with it (using tutorials and 1.53 manual) but still I am not sure how some parameters should be set and how to change them to get desired changes in vehicle handling.
Is port to some console (XBox360 or PS3) planned? This one is very important for me.
I have used 1.53 some time age and found it very good. Then I have to switch to PhysX cause we were doing project for XBox console. But PhysX is not that stable and its interface is just worse. I tried ODE but it is even more complicated with its odd parameters. The Newton proves it is really stable and it is very easy to use with its good and clear interface.
Gucman
Gucman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:23 am

Re: Newton 2.01 Archemedia Open Beta

Postby Julio Jerez » Sat May 30, 2009 6:13 pm

Beta 2.01 is up,
I triedd to fix all bugs reported on this thread and sent to me via PM.
Julio Jerez
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12249
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 2:18 pm
Location: Los Angeles

PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron